Catching up on March/April hikes

Posted: April 24, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I guess I was a bit wary of updating this blog in the weeks leading up to the Boston Marathon, because I wondered if my lack of sufficient training would lead to an epic implosion on race day that I wouldn’t be overly interested in sharing on the internet.

The casualty of that is that I neglected to report on a number of March/April Outing Club trips. So now we get a brief post on spring activities in the grand state of New Hampshire.

1) Hiking Mt. Tom, March 24-25

I led a trip up Mt. Tom, a 4000 footer located in Crawford Notch, the weekend after spring break. It was very much still winter in the Whites, as we encountered several feet of snow the whole way up, and my feet went numb about halfway through the hike.

Nevertheless, we had some pretty solid views at the summit, and Mt. Tom gets the honor of being my first 4000 footer of 2011.

2) Nordic Skiing/Coffee Drinking, April 2-3

The next weekend I led a trip centered around drinking coffee, with a bit of Nordic skiing thrown in. We skied some of the recreational trail in Franconia Notch, and also worked in a visit to Green Mountain Coffee headquarters in Waterbury, Vermont.

3) Hiking Passaconaway/Whiteface, April 16

Two days before running the Boston Marathon, I led a trip hiking a loop over Passaconaway and Whiteface, both 4000 footers. I really enjoy the loop since it’s a nice distance (about 10 miles) that has some solid views without being overly technical. The trail is also a bit off the beaten path, and driving to it takes you on one of my favorite roads in the state (the winding and pot hole-riddled Route 113A, if you’re interested).

Here’s the summit of Mt. Whiteface:

4) Hiking the Moats, April 22-23

This weekend brought an excursion to the Moat Mountains, near North Conway. We had to turn around early and didn’t bag any summits, but it was a pleasant meander nevertheless. It also snowed the entire morning. Gotta love “spring” in the mountains of New Hampshire. (Sorry, didn’t take any pics).

Leave a Reply

