The Grander Tour: Maps, Part II

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

The four Adventure Cycling Maps that I ordered have come in, so I’ve been able to get an initial look at where August’s St. Louis to Newport News, VA bike tour will take me through.

Having to plan my own route between Sag Harbor, NY and Durham, NH for my first bike tour took quite a bit of time, so I’m glad I can ride the Adventure Cycling Association’s TranAmerica Trail for most of this ride.

I wasn’t really sure what these maps would contain (besides, well, a map), but they manage to pack quite a bit of information into a small package.

On one side, you have the section of the route (which is typically around 300-400 miles) broken into 30-40 mile chunks, with a corresponding map and set of directions for each chunk.

On the other side, you have a guide to services (food, camping, bike shops, libraries, etc) in each area. You also have a “field notes” section with some historical and geological information about the region. Finally, at the top, you have an elevation profile for that map’s section.

So that’s what’s contained in an Adventure Cycling Map, if you were wondering.

Anyway, I’ve bought four maps, which span from Girard, Kansas to Yorktown, Virginia. I’m starting from outside St. Louis, not Girard, but I should meet up with the route within 100 miles (at the most). I’ll figure out that route at some later date. The specifications of that addition will determine the exact final mileage for The Grander Tour, but it looks like we’re looking at about 1,250 miles.

Some towns that you may have heard of that I’ll be going through: Carbondale, IL; Owensboro, KY; Berea, KY; Damascus, VA (where the route intersects with the Appalachian Trail); Charlottesville, VA; Williamsburg, VA.

It’s still a long way off, but it’s nice to have something to pore over. Getting reacquainted with the road bike now that I’m home. It was a pretty busy spring and I haven’t really been on it.

Leave a Reply

